How to throw a Galentine’s Day Party!

Hi Friends!

Last year, I planned my first ever Galentine’s Day Party and it was a complete success! I decided to go all out and order some fun decorations, fun food and some party favors that made perfect for our signature cocktails!

Here’s how I went about throwing my party:

Pick a date

This year my friends and I are having it on Wednesday, February 12th, because I will be headed off to Florida on the 13th for a half-marathon (more to come on that)! The 13th is technically the designated day for Galentine’s Day, but I think any day in February works to get together with friends and have fun drinks and heart shaped food! 🙂

Guest list

For Galentine’s Day, I just had my closest gal pals from college that live in NYC and my roommates. I wanted to get us some fun little gifts, so I kept my guest list relatively small.

Pick a location

I decided to have it at my apartment so I could decorate and make everything I wanted to make, while also staying on a budget.

Decorate

THIS was probably the best part of planning the party (next to creating my signature drink in my fun glasses), and I decided to go all out for it! I already have an on-theme light up sign in my apartment, so I decided to get a glitter wall to play off the light that we already had. I got this glitter wallpaper type thing on Amazon in pink and gold. I layered them to give it a subtle pink look, and I honestly never took it down after that. It lives in my apartment now.

Other options I love and am using for this year are: these heart garlands, these hanging paper hearts, twinkle lights, heart light, and this adorable pom-pom heart mirror!

Party favors

I wanted to get something fun and cute, however not too pricey for my friends and I to have for the party. After looking up some inspiration from my friend, Danielle (who plans a killer Galentine’s Day party every year), I decided on these personalized champagne flutes from Etsy! They were $5 each, came relatively quickly, and my friends LOVED them.

Food and drinks

This is your chance to really play around with fun on-theme foods, or just making your favorites. Last year, we bought pizza dough and other pizza fixings from Trader Joe’s, and made our own heart shaped pizzas. Unfortunately, we forgot to take photos because making then heart shaped pizzas was quite the event, and we were all ready to eat.

I did make a fun signature drink in the flutes that I got for us. It consisted of Trader Joe’s fancy pink lemonade, raspberry lime seltzer, mint, raspberries and lime juice! Plus vodka of course. This year I’m thinking of maybe doing a grapefruit mule, or something else fun and pink!

Supplies

Straws

From Amazon, I also picked up these Valentine’s Day themed paper straws, which came in a such a large pack that we literally still a few left for this year’s party haha.

Plates

In addition, heart plates from Amazon, came in handy from last year, and here’s a heart shaped option on Prime for this year is linked here.

Napkins

The CUTEST napkins from Amazon for Valentine’s Day are by far these ones. I’m ordering these just to have as fun cocktail napkins because they are fun and I love hearts.

 

 

Leave a comment